The DMV Point System – How Does it Work?
We’ve all heard of the DMV point system in the state of Florida. A certain number of points accrued against your record means your license could be suspended, or even taken away. But, how does it really work?
According to the DMV point system in Florida, drivers accumulate demerit points on their driving records for committing traffic offenses while operating motor vehicles. The amount of infraction points varies based on the severity of the offense you have committed. In addition to the FL driving record points, drivers may also receive other penalties. This includes driver’s license suspension or revocation, imprisonment, and/or high fines.
The Florida driver point system was created to assess the amount of traffic violations against your driving transcript. The number of demerit points per violation is dependent on the severity of the infraction or crime committed. Demerit points for speeding are the most common infractions. Speeding 50 mph over the allowed speed limit will bring you four points on your record. Moreover, six careless driving points will be accrued when drivers cause a crash and leave the scene of the accident without providing the necessary information, otherwise known as a hit-and-run.
Alternatively, DUI points in Florida are not assessed on a driver’s record. Rather, motorists who are caught driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs will receive an immediate driver’s license suspension. Drivers will also get their driving privileges suspended if they fail to pay child support or traffic violation fines, and if they’re caught street racing.
Drivers who accumulate 12 drivers license points in a period of 12 months will get a suspension of 30 days. 18 points in 18 months will bring you a driver’s license suspension for a period of three months. And finally, 24 traffic violation points in Florida accrued in a period of 36 months will get you a suspended driver’s license for one year.
Florida penalty points could stay on a driving record for a period of time after the infraction. This depends on the type and severity of the offense and on the established state laws. Demerit points in Florida remain on record for at least five years after the conviction date. Drivers may be served with additional traffic violation penalties such as driver’s license suspension or revocation, imprisonment, or payment for the applicable traffic fine.
Drivers who want to remove points from driving records in Florida can enroll in a state-approved traffic school. Some motorists may be required to attend different defensive driving courses dependent on the type of offense you have committed. A Basic Driver Improvement (BDI) course can be taken for the purpose of dismissing traffic tickets, while the 3-in-3 Driver Change Course is meant for motorists who have been convicted of three traffic offenses within 36 months and resulted in a car accident. Motorists wondering how to fix driving record demerits should know that they can attend a driving safety course once every 12 months, but no more than five times in a lifetime.
Drivers who are fighting a traffic ticket in Florida are advised to hire a traffic attorney to help them prove their innocence. They need to appear in court and plead “not guilty” in front of the judge, and before disputing a traffic ticket you must not submit a payment for the required fines since that’s considered admission of guilt. If you’re trying to dispute a traffic violation which you believe you did not commit, then hire a traffic lawyer who can help.
Call Us for a Free Consultation. For a Car accident in Fort Myers, Best injury lawyer near me, lawyers in Fort Myers, or law firms Fort Myers fl. We have the most qualified and experienced attorneys in Fort Myers a Personal injury law firm in Fort Myers and Naples. Let Marc L. Shapiro be your Personal Injury Lawyer.