Teen Drivers in Florida – What to Know
The state of Florida has a graduated license system. Teen drivers start with a learner’s permit at 15 and then can move up to a license at 16. There are restrictions that teen drivers need to be sure to follow while a part of this system so that they can prove that they are not only responsible drivers, but also responsible members of society.
In order to qualify for a learner’s permit, drivers must be 15 years of age. Two forms of identification must be provided, and a Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education course must be completed. A parent must also sign a consent form in front of the examiner, and if they are not present then a notarized form must be presented. 15 out of 20 of the questions on both the Rules of the Road and Road Signs tests must be correct in order to pass, and a vision and hearing test must also be passed.
After receiving the learner permit, teen drivers can drive during daylight hours for the first 90 days, and then up to 10:00 pm after the 90 days has passed. The learner license holder may drive only when a licensed driver 21 years of age or older is present. The adult license holder must sit in the seat beside the teen driver in the front passenger seat while the vehicle is in motion.
To receive an operator license in the State of Florida , the applicant must be 16 years of age and have held a valid learner license for a period of 1 year without a conviction for a traffic related offense. The learner license must be presented at the time of application for the operator license.
The operator license candidate needs to present a certificate that verifies 50 hours of driving by the applicant (10 hours of the 50 hours must be nighttime driving). The teen driver must take a behind the wheel driving test or provide a waiver from a State of Florida approved driver education course. The operator license candidate must also pass a vision and hearing test prior to receiving an operator license
A teen driver who is 16 years old is allowed to drive between 6:00 am and 11:00 pm unless they are driving to or from a place of employment. Otherwise, the teen driver must be accompanied by a driver at least 21 years of age with a license in good standing in the State of Florida if they wish to drive outside of the given time limitations. The adult license holder must be seated next to the teen driver at all times.
A license holder who is 17 years of age is allowed to drive between the hours of 5:00 am and 1:00 am. When driving outside these time limits the teen driver must be traveling to or from a place of employment or accompanied by a licensed driver at least 21 years of age. Once the driver reaches the age of 18 they may drive unsupervised and without time limits. It’s important to closely follow these rules during the first few years of holding a license in the state of Florida.
Call Us for a Free Consultation. For a Car accident in Fort Myers, Best injury lawyer near me, lawyers in Fort Myers, or law firms Fort Myers fl. We have the most qualified and experienced attorneys in Fort Myers a Personal injury law firm in Fort Myers and Naples. Let Marc L. Shapiro be your Personal Injury Lawyer.